Dayton Metro Library - Default Subject Guides
Home
Good Reads Reference Desk About Us News and Events
Ask a Librarian
Search for Information
Subjects
Subject Guides

News and Current Events

The library is switching to a new website on Sept. 1. This particular web page will no longer be available after that date.

Although the most current news is more likely in a newspaper, on the air or on the web, the Library is not far behind in collecting this information and helping you make sense of it. Our Magazines and Special Collections Division (lower level, Main Library) is the best place to get help finding the most current information.


Here are the resources the library has on this topic:

Databases

Indexes articles by subject in Dayton newspapers from 1985-present.

Full-text archive of most Dayton Daily News stories since 1990. TIP: sometimes searching by subject in the above index is a way to narrow your search and get fewer, more useful results. IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY.

Search many popular newspapers, magazines, tv transcripts and other sources from across the country in many different ways. LIBRARY CARD # REQUIRED FOR REMOTE USE.

Covers more academic, industry and trade articles than ELib. Many articles available full-text. Coverage is constantly increasing and moving further into the past. LIBRARY CARD # REQUIRED FOR REMOTE USE.

Direct access to Ebsco's News indexes. BARCODE # REQUIRED FOR REMOTE USE.

Web Site Links

Provides links to up-to-the-minute coverage on current events from hundreds of news sources. See how many different news sources report the same story!

 
Catalog My Account Catalog My Account Catalog My Account