Dayton Metro Library - Default Subject Guides
Home
Good Reads Reference Desk About Us News and Events
Ask a Librarian
Search for Information
Subjects
Subject Guides

Genealogy

The library is switching to a new website on Sept. 1. This particular web page will no longer be available after that date.


Here are the resources the library has on this topic:

Databases

Find out if a relative has been mentioned in a Who's Who book or other biographical resource. MAY BE ACCESSED FROM HOME WITH LIBRARY CARD AUTHENTICATION.

Search for obituary listings for deaths after 1985. The index will tell what newspaper to look in, but will not give the text of the article. MAY BE ACCESSED FROM HOME.

Tells in which Dayton newspaper obituaries may be found for the time period 1850 to 1880. MAY BE ACCESSED FROM HOME.

Click on archives/research tools; choose Death Certificate Index. MAY BE ACCESSED FROM HO

This includes many censuses, indexes, and other genealogical information sources. This database is for IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY.

Catalog Subject Headings

Check here for books and other materials on this topic owned by the library

~Comprehensive list of titles available. For more specific resources follow subheadings.

~Advice on a variety of software used to keep track of your research.

~Check this heading and subdivision for Census information.

~Dayton and local resources including birth

Bibliographies

Web Site Links

The place to start for finding web sites for specific ethnic groups, emigration by country of origin, adoption sites, and more.
Click on the "non-famous" right side of the screen for information on burial sites and dates of death for millions of individuals. slw 8/03
Start with the Ohio Genealogical Society. Click on databases then Miami Valley Genealogical Index. This resource tells what history books to look in to find information on local individuals.
Tells where to write to find birth, death, marriage, divorce, court, and other records related to Montgomery County.
Many free indexes are set up by volunteers. Especially useful are the bulletin boards and the family trees with e-mail contact information.
If you get stumped in your research, their inquiries page is a good resource. There is also a list of researchers who, for a fee, will aid you in your search.

 
Catalog My Account Catalog My Account Catalog My Account