Dayton Metro Library - Default Subject Guides
Home
Good Reads Reference Desk About Us News and Events
Ask a Librarian
Search for Information
Subjects
Subject Guides

Biography

The library is switching to a new website on Sept. 1. This particular web page will no longer be available after that date.


Here are the resources the library has on this topic:

Databases

Provides full text articles from Current Biography and other reference sources. Search by nationality, occupation, age, race, etc. REQUIRES LIBRARY CARD # for REMOTE USE.

Great for reports on authors, playwrights, poets. Contains articles from Contemporary Literary Criticism. REQUIRES LIBRARY CARD # FOR REMOTE USE.

Biographical articles on Artists.

Biographical articles on Musicians. BOTH GROVE DATABASES REQUIRE A LIBRARY CARD # FOR REMOTE USE.

Massive index to biographical information on "hard to find people. References Who's Who, Biography Index and others. REQUIRES LIBRARY CARD # FOR REMOTE USE

Bibliographies

A bibliography on Actors and Entertainers from Ohio created for the 2003 Ohio Bicentennial celebrations.
A bibliography for the 2003 Bicentennial on African Americans in Ohio.
A bibliography for the 2003 Ohio Bicentennial on Presidents that come from Ohio.

Web Site Links

One of the series that made biographies as popular and fascinating as they are today.
Like Schrodinger's Cat, some people are constantly in an indeterminate state. Alive or dead? Grey area coverage begins here. Also recommented: Dead People Server at www.dpsinfo.com/dps/index.html

 
Catalog My Account Catalog My Account Catalog My Account